



## 14th ANNUAL NATIONAL CONFERENCE On 'ELECTORAL & POLITICAL REFORMS'

Organized by Karnataka Election Watch (KEW) & Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR)

 $\underline{\text{Date:}}\ 10^{\text{th}}\ \text{and}\ 11^{\text{th}}\ \text{March,}\ 2018$ 

<u>Venue</u>: Indian Institute of Management (IIM), Bangalore

## <u>AGENDA</u>

## 10th March, 2018 - Auditorium

9:00 – 10:00	Registration
10:00 – 10:30	National Anthem and Lamp lighting
	Chief Guest: Shri Om Prakash Rawat (Chief Election Commissioner, Election Commission of India)
	Inauguration & Welcome Address: Shri Harish Narasappa (Founder, DAKSH and Coordinator, KEW), Prof. Trilochan Sastry (Founder member and Trustee of ADR), Prof. G Raghuram (Director, IIM-B)
10:30 – 11:00	Address by Shri Om Prakash Rawat, Chief Election Commissioner, Election Commission of India
	Chairperson – Dr. Ajit Ranade (Founder member and Trustee of ADR)
	Book release – Karnataka Voter Survey, 2018, Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh Election Watch Report, 2017
11:00 – 11:45	Muscle and money power: Impact on Elections
	Chairperson – Prof. Trilochan Sastry (Founder member and Trustee of ADR)
	Panelists: Shri Priyank Kharge (State Minister with independent charge – Information Technology, Bio-Technology, Science and Technology, Tourism), Shri G.N. Nagaraj (State Secretary, CPI(M)), Shri Mahima J Patel (State President, JD(U)), Shri Yashwant Deshmukh (C-Voter), Shri Tanveer Ahmed (National Spokesperson, JDS)
11:45 – 12:00	Open Discussion
12:00 – 12:15	Tea Break
	Legal Advocacy: A Tool for Electoral Reforms
12:15– 13:00	Chairperson: Prof. Jagdeep Chhokar (Founder member and Trustee of ADR)
	Panelists: Shri S N Shukla (General Secretary, Lok Prahari), Shri Harish Narasappa (Founder, DAKSH and Coordinator, KEW)), Justice Gopala Gowda (Retd. Judge Supreme Court, Former Chief Justice – Orissa High Court)
13:00 - 13:30	Open Discussion
13:30 – 14:30	Lunch
14:30 – 15:15	Political Reforms and the Fourth Estate
	Chairperson: Prof. Sudarsan Padmanabhan (Trustee of ADR)
	Panelists: Shri Sugata Srinivasraju (Co-Founder, Ed. Director – The State), Ms. C G Manjula (Views Editor – Prajavani), Shri Ramakrishna Upadhya (Senior Journalist, TV9), Shri Manoj Mitta (Senior Independent Journalist and Author)
15:15 – 15:45	Open discussion
15:45 – 16:30	Money power and Elections – Success stories from the exceptions
	Chairperson: Prof Trilochan Sastry (Founder member and Trustee of ADR)
	Panelists — Shri Abhay Kumar (Social Activist), Sarpanch (Karnataka (2), Ms Agatha Bhengra (Sarpanch - Jharkhand)





16:30 – 17:00	Open discussion
17:00 – 17:10	Vote of thanks : Shri Harish Narasappa (Founder, DAKSH and Coordinator, KEW)
20:00 onwards	Dinner

## IIth March, 2018

09:30 – 10:00	Registration
	Information & Communication Technology for Better Governance
10:00 – 11:00	Chairperson: Dr. Vipul Mudgal (Trustee – ADR)
	Panelists: Shri Jaskirat Singh (Trustee – ADR, Founder – CRAMAT), Ms. Anita Gurumurthy (Executive Director – IT for Change), Ms. Manasa Venkataraman (Research Associate, Takshashila Institution)
11:00 - 11:30	Open Discussion
11:30 – 11:45	Теа
	Role of Youth & Voter Awareness : Advocacy by State Coordinators
11:45 – 12:45	Chairperson: Maj. Gen. Anil Verma (Head of ADR)
	Panelists: Dr. O P Bhuraita (HP EW), Ms. Pankti Jog (Gujarat EW), Shri Sanjay Singh (UP EW), Shri Ranjan Mohanty (Odisha EW)
12:45 – 13:00	Open Discussion
	Resolutions and 'Next Steps for NEW'
13:00 – 13:15	Chairpersons – Prof. Trilochan Sastry and Shri Harish Narasappa (Founder, DAKSH and Coordinator, KEW)
13:15 onwards	Lunch & Dispersal